Taiwan added to Tier 5 youth mobility scheme

From the 1st of January 2012, Taiwan has joined the list of countries and territories that take part in the  UK’s new youth mobility scheme, under Tier 5 of the points-based system.


The countries that already participate in the scheme are Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Japan and Monaco.

The Tier 5 Youth Mobility Scheme allows young people from the list of participating countries and territories to come to the UK and experience life in the UK. Every year, the UK government allocates a number of places on the youth mobility scheme for each country and territory.

In 2012, Taiwan, Japan and Monaco will each have an allocation of 1,000 places for the youth of their countries to come to the UK. This is in line with the number of places offered to UK nationals on their reciprocal schemes.

Australia, Canada and New Zealand’s allocations will match the number of UK nationals who were issued visas on their reciprocal schemes in the previous year:

  • Australia – 32,500 places
  • Canada – 5,000 places
  • New Zealand – 10,000 places

The Immigration Rules have been amended on 1 January 2012 to reflect the addition of Taiwan to the scheme.

If you want to make an application and you meet the above requirements, please contact us to arrange your application or for more details of the scheme, ask one of our Immigration Advisors about the Tier 5 (Youth mobility scheme).

Comments are closed.